Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

National Department Budget for 2016-17

Vote purpose

Improve cooperative governance across the three spheres of government in partnership with institutions of traditional leadership, thereby ensuring that provinces and municipalities carry out their service delivery and development functions effectively.


The Department of Cooperative Governance is mandated to: develop and monitor the implementation of national policy and legislation; transform and strengthen key institutions and mechanisms of governance to fulfil their developmental role; develop, promote and monitor mechanisms, systems and structures to enable integrated service delivery and implementation within government; and promote sustainable development by providing support to and exercising oversight over provincial and local government. This mandate is derived from the following legislation:

  • the Intergovernmental Relations Framework Act (2005)

  • the Municipal Property Rates Act (2004)

  • the Municipal Systems Act (2000)

  • the Municipal Structures Act (1998).