Visit SA Government Coronavirus (COVID-19) website:

PER - Language Services

What is this?
Historically, English and Afrikaans have been the dominant languages of academia, commerce, government and public life in South Africa, while indigenous languages have been marginalised. For the vast majority of South Africans who are not mother-tongue speakers of English or Afrikaans, language poses a formidable barrier to accessing quality education, socio-economic opportunities, full participation in public life, and the realisation of their potential. Chapter 1 of the Constitution recognises 11 official languages, all of which are equally esteemed and must be treated equitably. The state is constitutionally required to take practical and positive measures to elevate the status and use of all these languages.​

Discuss this dataset with others